Cheer and Dance (Formerly Poms)

  • viking

     

    2022-2023 Viking Cheer and Dance

    The Cheer and Dance squads help to promote school spirit during the boys basketball season as well as demonstrate their athletic and dance talents.  The cheerleaders attend and cheer at all FVC games and tournaments.  The Dance team performs at all home games and tournaments.  The cheer team is divided into the 7th and 8th grade squads.  The Dance team is made up of both 7th and 8th grade girls.  We have three coaches working with the squads to help the girls become confident working in front of a crowd and develop team skills. 

    Cheer and Dance is open to 7th and 8th grade girls.  **Clinic and tryouts will be held at the end of Sept./Oct.**  Cheer and Dance practice will begin in October and meet daily. Each team member is expected to attend all practices and games.  Practices will be held every day after school and on some Saturdays.  Squad members will receive a practice schedule to help you plan accordingly. Both Cheer and Dance will participate in a Fox Valley Conference Exhibition event. 

    Each squad member will receive a uniform (skirt and shell) which will be turned in at the end of the season. Squad members are responsible for their uniform.  All uniforms and shoes must be neat and presentable for each game. In addition, each member will be responsible for purchasing as a group: socks, bows and spankies from a selected supplier. It is important that all girls are wearing the same uniform and accessories. Accessories generally run around $70, in addition to the $100 athletic fee.

  • Thursday, September 29

    Clinics 2:30-4:00 

    Wednesday, October 5

    Clinics 2:30-4:00  

    Thursday, October 6

    Tryouts 2:30-?

    Monday, October 17

    First Practice 2:30-4:00 p.m.

    **Must have a current physical on file.

    Practice daily on non-game days.

    Tuesday, October 18

    Virtual Parent Meeting-TBD

    Wednesday, October 26

    Fees due

    Tuesday, November 1

    Game HOME vs. Johnsburg 4:00

    Thursday, November 3

     Game @ Nippersink 4:00

    **Pictures**

    Monday, November 7

    Game HOME vs. Creekside 4:15

    Wednesday, November 9

    Northwood HOME vs. Northwood 4:15

    Monday, November 14

    Game @ MMS 4:00

    Wednesday, November 16

    Game @Johnsburg 4:00 

    Monday, November 28

     Game HOME vs. Nippersink 4:00

    Wednesday, November 30

    Game @ Creekside 4:00

    Monday, December 5

    Game @ Northwood 4:00

    Wednesday, December 7

    Game HOME vs. MMS 4:00

    Thursday, December 8

    Exhibition @ Beardsley Middle School 

    Time-TBD

     

  • City League Dance

    The City League Dance Team is open to all girls at Parkland who have not participated in the current Parkland Cheer and Dance teams. It is open to all 6th, 7th, and 8th grade girls. Physicals are not required and there will be no fee for the program, but students are required to have a CURRENT Athletic Permission Form completed on Skyward through Parent Access by the first practice. Participants will be asked to purchase a t-shirt to be worn at performances. Attendance at all practices and performances is strongly recommended. An activity bus is available after practice at 4:15 p.m.  Students must have transportation home on performance days.

     

    Uniform

    Girls will need:

    • Black yoga pants
    • Gym shoes
    • Girls will need to purchase a dance team shirt for performances. (After winter break)
  • Wednesday, January 11

    First Practice 2:30-4:00 p.m.

    **2022-2023 Athletic Permission Form must be completed on Skyward through a parent/guardian account.** 

    Wednesday, January 18

    Practice 2:30-4:00

    Monday, January 23

    Practice 2:30-4:00

    Wednesday, January 25

    Practice 2:30-4:00

    Monday, January 30

    Practice 2:30-4:00

    Wednesday, February 1

     Practice 2:30-4:00

    Monday, February 6

    Practice 2:30-4:00

    **Performance**

    Wednesday, February 8

     Practice 2:30-4:00

    Monday, February 13

    Practice 2:30-4:00

    Wednesday, February 15

    Practice 2:30-4:00

    **Performance**

  •  

     

    viking1