Wrestling

  • viking

    2021-2022 VIKING WRESTLING

     

    The wrestling program is open to 6th, 7th, and 8th grade students.  They compete as one team.  The Viking wrestling program stresses safety while offering the opportunity to achieve the goal of improving as a wrestler.  The wrestlers work on general conditioning and basic moves while constantly striving to improve.  The wrestlers will compete against all the schools in the FVC and  in the FVC Tournament .  Each conference meet has a “Varsity” team line-up and the opportunity for “Exhibition” matches.  Exhibition matches are for improvement of skills and an opportunity to participate. 

    In addition, the wrestlers compete in several invitational tournaments, non-conference meets and the IESA regional, sectional, and state tournaments. 

    Practice is held everyday after school that there is not a meet.  Team members are expected to attend all practices and meets.

    Students are required to have a CURRENT Athletic Permission Form completed on Skyward through Parent Access by the first practice. The athletic fee for wrestling is $75.  Parkland will provide each team member with a uniform to be worn only at meets.  The uniform must be returned to the coach at the end of the season.  Students will be billed for lost or damaged uniforms.  Team members have the option to purchase team spiritwear at the beginning of the season.

  • Thursday, December 9

    First Practice 2:30-4:00 p.m.

    **2021-2022 Athletic Permission Form must be completed on Skyward through a parent/guardian account AND have a current physical on file with the nurse.**

    Thursday, January 13

    Meet @ Cary 4:30

    Saturday, January 15

    Tournament @ Dekalb, Il 

    Tuesday, January 18

     Meet @ Heineman 4:30

    Thursday, January 20

    Meet HOME vs. Bernotas 4:00

    Tuesday, January 25

    Meet HOME vs. Lundahl 4:00

    Thursday, January 27

    Meet HOME vs. Marlowe 4:00

    Tuesday, Fenruary 1

    Meet @ Beardsley 4:30

    Thursday, February 3

    Meet HOME vs. Nippersink 4:00

    Saturday, February 5

    Tournament @ Deer Path

    Tuesday, February 8

     Meet @ Creekside 4:30

    Thursday, February 10

    Meet @ Northwood 4:30

    **Pictures**

    Monday, February 14

    Meet @ Johnsburg 4:30

    Wednesday, February 16

    Meet HOME vs. MMS 4:30

    Saturday, January 19

    Fox Valley Tournament 

    HOME-Time TBD

    Saturday February 26

    IESA Regionals 

    Time & Location TBD

    Saturday, March 5

    IESA Sectionals

    Time & Location TBD

    Friday, March 11 & Saturday, March 12

    IESA State

    NIU Convocation Center

    Dekalb, IL

  •  

     

    vikings